## The International Jabłoński Award

conceived in commemoration of Professor Aleksander Jabłoński, recognises the highest achievements in the principles and applications of fluorescence spectroscopy. The Award is conferred annually. Professor Gregorio Weber, who is widely regarded for his profound impact on fluorescence in modern biology, was the first recipient of the Jabłoński Award, which was presented at the 1997 annual meeting of the Biophysical Society by the Biological Fluorescence Subgroup. The second recipient, Professor Michael Kasha, has been honoured at the Jabłoński Centennial Conference on Luminescence and Photophysics in Toruń, Poland.

The awardee received a Memorial Plaque (see photography on the left), a \$2500 cash prize, and has presented an Award Lecture during the Conference.

The International Jabłoński Award Committee (1998):

- J.B. Alexander Ross (USA) (Chairman)
- D. Frąckowiak (Poland)
- Z.R. Grabowski (Poland)
- S. Nagakura (Japan)
- R. Fugate (Spectronic Instruments USA)

The Award is sponsored by the Biological Fluorescence Subgroup of the Biophysical Society (USA) and by Spectronic Instruments, Inc. (USA).

13