## Proceedings of the XX International School on Physics of Semiconducting Compounds Jaszowiec, Poland, May 27–31, 1991

**Editors**:

A.J. Na olny A. Suchocki

WARSAW

POLISH ACADEMY OF SCIENCES
INSTITUTE OF PHYSICS



The XX International School on Physics of Semiconducting Compounds "Jaszowiec 1991" was organized by the Institute of Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences and by the Faculty of Physics of Warsaw University.

## **Program Committee:**

Jacek Baranowski
Jan Blinowski
Piotr Bogusławski
Tomasz Dietl
Tadeusz Figielski
Robert R. Gałązka
Jerzy Ginter
Marian Grynberg
Jacek Kossut
Jerzy M. Langer
Andrzej Mycielski
Andrzei Suchocki

(Chairman) (Secretary)

## Organizing Committee:

Urszula Blinowska Ludwik Borg Ewa Więckowska Andrzej Wąsowski Bogdan Wieczorek

Tadeusz Suski

## Preface

The XX Jubilee International School on Physics of Semiconducting Compounds "Jaszowiec 1991" was held in the GWAREK and BARBARA hotels in Jaszowiec between the 27th and the 31st of May 1991, and was organized by the Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences and by the Faculty of Physics of Warsaw University. About 100 invitations have been sent out to Polish physicists working abroad to participate in the School. Although only relatively few of them were able to come to Jaszowiec the School was attended by about 220 participants, much larger number than the previous year. During the School 19 invited talks were presented by distinguished Colleagues from both Poland and abroad. The additional lecture was given by Jerzy Bernholc on "hot topic" of Carbon C<sub>60</sub>. From 118 submitted and accepted original contributions, only about the half was accepted by the Program Committee for publication, basing on the content of submitted abstracts. These papers were reviewed by the Program Committee and they are published in the Proceedings, consisting of this and the following issue of the Acta Physica Polonica A.

For the second time, the annual Leonard Sosnowski stipend for the best physics student specializing in solid state physics, kindly donated by the Polish physicists working in the USA, was handed. This year winner was Mr. Jakub Tworzydło from Warsaw University.

The smooth running of the meeting would not be possible without a friendly service provided by the staff of *GWAREK* and *BARBARA* hotels, and the hard work of many Colleagues, whose patience and devotion should be acknowledged very much. Special thanks are addressed to U. Blinowska, L. Borg, A. Wasowski, E. Więckowska and B. Wieczorek.

ANDRZEJ SUCHOCKI ANDRZEJ J. NADOLNY Editors of the Proceedings