This issue of Acta Physica Polonica A is dedicated to Prof. Marcel Ausloos from University of Liége and to Prof. Dietrich Stauffer from University of Cologne in recognition of their important contributions in the field of econo- and sociophysics and on the occasion of their 65th birthdays

Proceedings of the 3rd Polish Symposium

on

Econo- and Sociophysics Wrocław, Poland, November 22-24, 2007

Editors of the Proceedings

Dariusz Grech, Stanisław Drożdż, Janusz Hołyst Krzysztof Kułakowski, Ryszard Kutner

WARSAW

POLISH ACADEMY OF SCIENCES INSTITUTE OF PHYSICS

Organized by

Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Wrocław and Institute of Economical Sciences, University of Wrocław

Organizing Committee

Dariusz Grech Witold Kwaśnicki Zygmunt Mazur Janusz Miśkiewicz Katarzyna Sznajd-Weron

Scientific Committee

Marcel Ausloos (Liége)
Stanisaw Drożdż (Cracow)
Dariusz Grech (Wrocław)
Janusz Hołyst (Warsaw)
Krzysztof Kułakowski (Cracow)
Ryszard Kutner (Warsaw)
Janusz Miśkiewicz (Wrocław)
Maciej Nowak (Cracow)

Preface

The Third Polish Symposium on Econo- and Sociophysics was organized on 22-24 November 2007 at the Wrocław University by the Section of Polish Physical Society Physics in Economical and Social Sciences (FENS) and two institutes of Wrocław University - Institute of Theoretical Physics and Institute of Economic Sciences. The event was the continuation of previous FENS meetings in Warsaw (2004) and Cracow (2006). It gathered nearly 60 physicists, mathematicians, economists, sociologists and students from various Polish universities, who believe that scientific bridges can be successfully built between methods used in physics - particularly in physics of complex systems, and economical, financial or social phenomena. In fact the ideas and tools used by physicists cross nowadays the traditional borders of physics. Newly emerged disciplines like econophysics (financial physics) or sociophysics fill very effectively the a priori existing gap between physics, economy and social sciences. The still increasing number of physicists look therefore at econo- and sociophysics as at the new disciplines of physics itself. Nowadays, the advanced physics based models of economical and financial processes are more than welcome for the quantitative market analysis and for the economic system modeling. All participants of Wrocław FENS 2007 meeting liked to make their efforts in this spirit.

One of the session during Wrocław symposium was entirely devoted to the existing already at some Universities interdisciplinary courses in econophysics (see the last article in this proceedings). We hope this way to evoke a large interest among students for whom this kind of new B.Sc or M.Sc. courses opens completely new gate for further career providing a better starting point to get a good job in banks, insurance companies and other financial institutions.

It is worth to notice that organizers of Wrocław symposium invited Prof. Marcel Ausloos from Liége University as a special guest speaker. Prof. Ausloos is widely known as one of the main econophysics founders and many participants appreciate the fruitful scientific discussion with him during this symposium. In fact a lot of research projects in econophysics conducted at present are stimulated by articles written by M. Ausloos and his collaborators in the last decade.

It is also our pleasure to say that the Board of FENS Section of the Polish Physical Society decided to dedicate this proceedings to Prof.Prof. Marcel Ausloos and Dietrich Stauffer in recognition of their enormous scientific influence on the development of econo- and sociophysics and on the occasion of their 65th birthdays as well as on their retirement this year.

It is planned that the next FENS meeting will take place at Rzeszów University, 7-9 May 2009. For details see Section web page http://ptf.fuw.edu.pl/fens/.

Dariusz Grech (editor of the proceedings)

List of Participants

Ausloos Marcel, Liége Batorski Dominik, Warszawa Boruc Barbara, Warszawa Buda Andrzej, Głogów Chmiel Anna, Warszawa Czarnecki Łukasz, Wrocław Daszczuk Michał, Warszawa Domańska Iwona, Warszawa Drożdż Stanisław, Kraków Dyka Andrzej, Gdańsk Górski Andrzej, Kraków Grabowski Andrzej, Warszawa Gradowski Tomasz, Warszawa Grech Dariusz, Wrocław Gubiec Tomasz, Warszawa Hetman Paulina, Wrocław Hołyst Janusz, Warszawa Jagielski Maciej, Warszawa Jaworska Krystyna, Warszawa Jaworski Piotr, Warszawa Karpio Krzysztof, Warszawa Kasprzak Andrzej, Warszawa Korycka Dominika, Warszawa Kosiński Robert, Warszawa Kozłowska Marzena, Warszawa Kułakowski Krzysztof, Kraków Kutner Ryszard, Warszawa Kwapień Jarosław, Kraków

Kwaśnicki Witold, Warszawa Lech Michał, Warszawa Malarz Krzysztof, Kraków Mazur Zygmunt, Wrocław Miśkiewicz Janusz, Wrocław Olkiewicz Robert, Wrocław Oświecimka Paweł, Kraków Pajor Anna, Kraków Pamuła Grzegorz, Wrocław Pawlikowska Katarzyna, Warszawa Pekalski Andrzej, Wrocław Piotrowski Karol, Warszawa Pipień Mateusz, Kraków Rak Rafał, Rzeszów Sadlej Krzysztof, Warszawa Schroeder Małgorzata, Białystok Sieczka Paweł, Warszawa Snarska Małgorzata, Kraków Suchecki Krzysztof, Warszawa Szczypińska Anna, Katowice Sznajd-Weron Katarzyna, Wrocław Tyszczyk Marcin, Warszawa Wojciechowska Aleksandra, Warszawa Wojnar Ryszard, Warszawa Wróblewski Tomasz, Warszawa Wyłomańska Agnieszka, Wrocław Žebrowski Piotr, Wrocław Życzkowski Karol, Kraków